MADISON, WI

BACK TO CITY

PechaKucha Presentation

Presenter_bw_img_4299

Rachel Wallace

Industrial Designer, Design Concepts in Madison, WI

One Designer's Brutal Opinion About a UW Icon

PRESENTED ON DEC 01, 2016
IN MADISON, WI @ VOL 20

"It's not trying to be something it's not. It's not hiding behind anything else."

In One Designer's Brutal Opinion About a UW Icon  at PechaKucha Night Madison Vol. 20,  Rachel Wallace shares her fascination with Brutalism and her peculiar connection to the UW Humanities building located in Madison, Wisconsin. We learn how this building led her to appreciate this "raw" style of architecture.

 

 

 

APPLAUD THIS!
Thumb_emma12

Brutalism

BY EMMA BROOKE
@ VOL 103 ON MAY 29, 2013

When Emma Brooke turned 20 she suddenly fell madly in love - with concrete.  She describes the beginnings of her whirlwind love affair with the architectural style so called "Brutalism" for its callous, unfeeling, unyielding structural dominance. Emma shows us some or her favourite examples of this architectural genre in both Japan and London.

 "Presentation of the Day" on May 31, 2013.

Thumb_4_rebeka_rubio.018

Designer's Guide

BY REBEKA RUBIO
@ VOL 1 ON APR 11, 2013

Rebeka Rubio presents us her Designer's Guide. She shares some of her best work with us, and talks about the problems she had throughout creating them. She has had struggle to get to the point where she currently is, and offers tips to designers to avoid common mistakes. (in Spanish)

 

Thumb_picture1

A Textile Designer's Influences

BY MARK TIMMINS
@ VOL 1 ON OCT 16, 2015

Mark Timmins examines how St. Ives in Cronwall has influenced his textile design.

Thumb_slide22

Manhattan Project 2.0, or One Thing Donald Trump Taught Me About Architecture

BY MARK STANLEY
@ VOL 19 ON MAY 12, 2016

In this presentation, Mark Stanley uses Donald Trump as an avatar for exploring other contingencies for architecture in the 21st Century. Though the lens of two of his favorite architectures, One Wilshire Tower and The Large Hadron Collider, he projects his future speculative design work onto Oak Ridge National Lab. 

Thumb_slide17

There And Back Again: A Designer's Tale

BY MELISSA KRYSTOFIAK
@ VOL 26 ON SEP 29, 2016

"LA was just not the place for me anymore, so I packed up my stuff and moved home to Edmonton. But I had this flashly resume, so where would I fit in?"

In "There And Back Again: A Designer's Tale", from PechaKucha Night Edmonton Vol.26, designer Melissa Krystofiak's career has taken her behind the scenes of some Hollywood's biggest movies. In this presentation, she shares how her experiences working in different design discliplines has shaped her ideas about work, community and creativity.

Thumb_slide25

The Love Bug- Evolution of a Hippie Icon

BY JOHN ROMERO
@ VOL 9 ON NOV 29, 2016

John Romero gives a beautiful and historic view of the Volkswagen and the transformational journey to become one of America’s icons of popular culture.

Thumb_1

Industrial Sculpture

BY JOE HENSEL
IN PITTSBURGH, PA

Joe Hensel, horder of industrial artifacts, talks about his recent projects and industrial sculpture. 

Thumb_full_slide153_20copy

British Brutalist Architecture

BY JON WRIGHT
@ VOL 15 ON JUN 12, 2017

"We've come so far in our taste and appreciation for these buildings that you can buy models of them."

In British Brutalist Architecture from PechaKucha Night London Vol. 15Jon Wright shares his love of Brutalist Architecture and in particular his love of the examples of this severe form of art in Britain.

Jon's PechaKucha helps to get rid of a few pervasive myths about Brutalism.

He also shows you what buildings we've lost (he would describe this as a disaster!), and how we saved the ones we do have with the meta-narrative being the cyclical nature of popular architectural taste and public opinion, how that is formed and how it manifests itself in popular culture.

 

Thumb_4_martin

Brutal Charm in Stockholm

BY MARTIN RĂ–RBY
@ VOL 56 ON APR 21, 2016

Architectural historian Martin Rörby shows the best the city of Stockholm has got in terms of brutalism! Get to know another side of Stockholm, and it's definitely charming.